Spring 2014 Induction and Recognition

 April 13, 2014

 College Station, TX— The Texas A&M University chapter of Phi Kappa Phi inducted 268 new members today. New members were selected from the top 7.5% of junior undergraduate students, the top 10% of senior undergraduate students and top 10% graduate and professional students in each college. Additionally 11 students were honored as Outstanding Junior for their college and one student was honored as University Outstanding Junior:

Name                             College
Melanie Jackson          College of Architecture
Kasey Kram                   College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Alexander Garcia         Mays Business School
McKenna Breiner        College of Education and Human Development
Adam Alderson            Dwight Look College of Engineering
Amelie Berger*            College of Geosciences
Madeline Keyser          College of Liberal Arts
Hannah Frailey            College of Science
Marissa Forray             College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
Edward Schendzelos  Texas A&M at Galveston
Mohammed Ayub        Texas A&M at Qatar

*2014 University Outstanding Junior

2014 PKP Outstanding Juniors

2014 Outstanding Juniors, left to right: Alderson, Schendzelos, Kram, Jackson, Berger, Breiner, Frailey, Garcia, Ayub

In addition to the junior and senior inductees, two alumni–Mohammed Abdul-Latif and Venkat Goruganti–were extended an invitation based on their ongoing committment to the mission of Phi Kappa Phi “to promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

 The ceremony provided an opportunity to recognize the Texas A&M nominee for the Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowship. This national competition features five $15,000 scholarships and fifty-one $5,000 scholarships for students entering the first year of graduate or professional study. Senior environmental design major Kindall Stephens received the chapter nomination for the national competition and a scholarship from the local chapter.

Dr. Miller addresses the induction ceremony.

Dr. P.J. Miller addresses the induction ceremony. Behind her, left to right, former PKP president and ceremony speaker Dr. Jim Kracht; 2014-15 PKP President, Dr. Steven Quiring; 2014-15 President-elect, Dr. Gül Russell.

Dr. P.J. Miller, President of the chapter made the following statement regarding the recognition: “The caliber of students who are members of Phi Kappa Phi exemplifies what being a Texas Aggie is all about.  These students are not only stellar in their academics but are student leaders and active in a number of organizations and activities on and off campus.”

2013 University Outstanding Junior Mollie Lavostica, a senior agricultural communication and journalism major, offered the following as advice to the new inductees, “Let the love of learning rule humanity…so often college students lose sight of what lies at the foundation of our academic pursuits and PKP serves as great reminder of the importance of learning in all stages of life. Through PKP, members can build upon each other’s strengths, discover new passions and stand united by the bond of a deeply rooted love of learning.”

For more information about the Texas A&M chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, please visit http://pkptamu053.tamu.edu.

 More About Phi Kappa Phi
Founded in 1897 and headquartered in Baton Rouge, La., Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Phi Kappa Phi inducts annually approximately 32,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni. The Society has chapters on more than 300 select colleges and universities in North America and the Philippines. Membership is by invitation only to the top 10 percent of seniors and graduate students and 7.5 percent of juniors. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction also qualify.

 Since its founding, more than 1 million members have been initiated. Some of the organization’s more notable members include former President Jimmy Carter, NASA astronaut Wendy Lawrence, novelist David Baldacci and YouTube cofounder Chad Hurley. The Society has awarded approximately $14 million since the inception of its awards program in 1932. Today, nearly $1 million is awarded each biennium to qualifying students and members through graduate fellowships, undergraduate study abroad scholarships, member and chapter awards and grants for local and national literacy initiatives. The Society’s mission is “To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”

 For more information on Phi Kappa Phi, please call 800/804-9880 or visit http://www.PhiKappaPhi.org.




One thought on “Spring 2014 Induction and Recognition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s